1. Skip to content


Badminton England

Contact Email
Contact Telephone
01908 268400

Get Involved

What is Para-Badminton?

A growing sport in Britain, disability badminton is popular because of its level of inclusion. Many types of disabilities can play either for fun or competitively and disabled players can play alongside those who are able bodied.

Para-Badminton, like other para-sports, uses a classification system to ensure that players with a similar level of impairment compete against each other.

There are a total of 6 classes recognised by the BWF:

  • 2 Wheelchair sport classes ( WH1, WH2)
  • 3 Standing sport classes (SL3, SL4, SU5)
  • 1 Short stature sport class (SS6)


Disability badminton caters for all kinds of disabilities from people in wheelchairs, those with hearing impairments or learning difficulties to dwarfs and amputees.


  • Para-Badminton will debut in the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games


Coaching Can

Coaching has long been considered to be about the development of skill in a sport. It has been about acquiring, honing and transferring these skills in the pursuit of athletic achievement.


  • Blaby District Council
    British Heart Foundation
    Equality Standard
    Oadby & Wigston Borough Council
  • Rutland County Council
    Loughborough University
    County Sport Network
    Sport England
  • Hinckley & Bosworth Borough Council
    Leicestershire County Council
    Charnwood Borough Council
    Harborough District Council
    North West Leicestershire District Council
  • East Midlands Platform
    Melton Borough Council
    Age UK L&R
    Leicester City Council


  • Harborough District Council
    Age UK L&R
  • Sport England
    East Midlands Platform
    North West Leicestershire District Council
  • Safeguarding
    Equality Standard
  • Oadby & Wigston Borough Council
    Melton Borough Council
  • Charnwood Borough Council
    British Heart Foundation
  • County Sport Network
    Blaby District Council
  • Rutland County Council
    Hinckley & Bosworth Borough Council
  • Loughborough University
    Leicester City Council
  • Leicestershire County Council