1. Skip to content

We use cookies to improve your online experience. For information on the cookies we use and for details on how we process your personal information, please see our cookie policy and privacy policy. By continuing to use our website you consent to us using cookies. Continue

Clubs, individuals and volunteers recognised at inaugural
LRS Celebration Evening 2017

Leicester-Shire & Rutland Sport's (LRS) inaugural Celebration Evening was a huge success, as local sport and physically active champions were heralded at the Leicester Arena.

Held in partnership with De Montfort University, 10 awards were presented throughout the course of the evening with groups and individuals hailed for their tireless dedication to making local sport and activities happen.

Hosted by local sport and physical activity advocate Gaynor Nash and BBC Radio Leicester's Ian Stringer, the Celebration saw some of the finest coaches, teachers, individuals and groups recognised for their efforts.

The evening acted as a way to celebrate the significant impact that sport and physical activity has made to improve people's lives, through the work of LRS and its partners. The breadth of work undertaken by LRS and in partnership with all local authorities, schools, national governing bodies of sport and the voluntary sector, to make sport and physical activity more accessible was showcased.

It wasn't just about the awards though, with performances adding to the atmosphere. Nether Hall School were the first to take to the stage, wowing the crowd with their Greased Lightnin' performance. And they were followed by Oaklands School, whose Hairspray themed dance was equally entertaining. And the action didn't stop there, with a Clubbercise session getting everyone out of their seats and familiar with a glowstick!

With previous GO GOLD Ambassadors Grace Garner (currently of Wiggle High5 Cycling) and Jonny Walton (Team GB athlete at the 2016 Rio Olympics) both on hand for a short Q&A and photo opportunities, both young and old got the chance to meet two of the area's finest sporting talents.

Award Winners and Highly Commended:

The LRS Primary PE & Sport Premium Award

This Award recognises the primary school that has achieved the greatest impact through its use of primary sports premium funding. The effects of sport and physical activity on young people can go much further than being good at a sport. We look at impact on the wider school, on individual students and staff, and on the local community.

  • Winner: Millfield L.E.A.D Academy, Leicester (pictured)
  • Highly Commended: Swallowdale Primary School, Melton

The John Buckingham Award for Developing School Sports Associations

The John Buckingham Award is presented to the 'Developing School
Sports Association' of the year, who may have grown, developed, changed
or modernised their offer, to ensure more young people can access
opportunities in school sport and competition.

  • Winner: Leicestershire County Netball Association (pictured)

The Hilary Johnson Award for Service to PE & School Sport

The Hilary Johnson Award is a Lifetime Achievement Award for long service to PE and School Sport. It is named in memory of Martin Johnson CBE's mother, who was an incredibly dedicated and passionate PE teacher in Leicestershire. It is awarded each year to an individual who has consistently gone above and beyond to make PE and school sport accessible for all children and young people across Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland.

  • Winner: Nigel Williams, Blaby
  • Highly Commended: Dorothy Orr, North West Leicestershire and Stephanie Magee, Leicester City (pictured)

The Workplace Health Award

The Workplace Health Award aims to recognise workplaces who have fully engaged with Workplace Challenge by encouraging staff to take part in national activity log challenges and the LRS competition programme. It is awarded to workplaces who truly value the health and wellbeing of their employees.

  • Winner: Ashmount School, Charnwood (pictured)

Early Years Physical Activity Awards

Most Active Setting Award

This award is for an Early Years setting demonstrating that they are committed to promoting the health and wellbeing of its children through excellent implementation of Purposeful Physical Play (PPP) in an effort to get their children moving.

  • Winner: Holmsdale Manor Nursery School, North West Leicestershire (pictured)
  • Highly Commended: Ashmount School EYFS, Charnwood and Daisy Chain Children's Nursery, Blaby

Early Years Champion Award

This award is for an individual who has shown a passion for getting their Early Years setting more active by attending Purposeful Physical Play (PPP) training and transferring this positively into their workplace.

  • Winner: Katherine Mackness – Apple Tree Nursery, Harborough (pictured)
  • Winner: Kayleigh Nichols – Orchard End Nursery, Hinckley (pictured)

Parental/Carer Engagement Award

This award is for an Early Years setting who have shown exceptional attempts to engage with parents/carers and ensure that children stay active beyond the early years setting and into their home life.

  • Winner: Fairfield Preparatory School, Charnwood (pictured)
  • Highly Commended: Whetstone Baptist Playgroup, Blaby

The Alan Kind Award for contribution to Sport (Over 21)

The Alan Kind Award is to recognise volunteers, over the age of 21, who have made a valued contribution to the development and delivery of opportunities in sport over the past 12 months.

  • Winner: Linda Harris, Ibstock United Junior & Youth FC (pictured)
  • Highly Commended: Razia Noormahomed - Oadby & Wigston Muslim Association and Alison Wilcock - Leicester Sharks Swimming Club

The Stuart Lindeman Award for contribution to Sport (Under 21)

The Stuart Lindeman Award is to recognise young volunteers, under the age of 21, who have made a valued contribution to the development and delivery of opportunities in sport over the past 12 months. This may be through leadership, coaching, officiating or in any other support roles.

  • Winner: David Kennedy, North West Leicestershire (pictured)
  • Highly Commended: Beth Kenney, Hinckley & Bosworth and Harry Mathers, Rutland

The Peter Walker Memorial Award for Unsung Hero

The Peter Walker Memorial Award is to recognise the dedicated voluntary work of people who give so much of their time, effort and experience to encourage others to take part in sport and physical activity.

  • Winner: Mick Ballard, Barrow Runners
  • Highly Commended: Ian Crisp, Burbage Cricket Club and Sue Foulkes, Leicester City Ladies FC

Videos and Links


  • Equality Standard
    Harborough LSA
    County Sport Network
    Active Leicester
  • O&W LSA
    Charnwood LSA
    Leicestershire County Council
    Sport England
  • Blaby LSA
    H&B LSA
    Melton LSA
    Active Rutland


  • Equality Standard
    Active Leicester
  • Melton LSA
    Sport England
  • Safeguarding
    Leicestershire County Council
  • O&W LSA
  • H&B LSA
    Charnwood LSA
  • County Sport Network
    Blaby LSA
  • Active Rutland
    Harborough LSA