Alongside health and care partners, we are implementing a free postural stability exercise programme called Steady Steps with support from each of the localities across Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland.

Steady Steps is a 24-week programme tailored to those who have previously fallen or worry about falling and is designed to help improve balance and stability. Delivered by Level 4 specialised Postural Stability Instructors, the classes are tailored to each individual's abilities and will progress in difficulty throughout the programme.

People are eligible for the Steady Steps programme if they are aged over 65, are at risk of falling (e.g. have a high fear or falling or poor balance) or have fallen less than three times in the past 12 months.

For the advanced Steady Steps plus sessions please contact your local co-ordinator for more information.

Pre-booking is required for all Steady Steps courses and local inclusion criteria are applicable. Due to the nature of the programme there will be a final intake date for all programmes.

Please contact the relevant coordinator for further information, found within each session listed.

Locality

Name

Email

Number

Blaby

Hannah Powell

Hannah.Powell@blaby.gov.uk

0116 272 7523

Charnwood

Will Blanche

Will.Blanche@charnwood.gov.uk

01509 634966

Harborough

Danny Hallam

D.Hallam@harborough.gov.uk

01858 821286/ 07879828187

Hinckley

Liz Causon

Liz.Causon@hinckley-bosworth.gov.uk

01455 255870

Melton

Abbie Brewin

abrewin@melton.gov.uk

01664 504289

North West Leicestershire

Emily Rodbourne

EMILY.RODBOURNE@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

01530 454755

Oadby & Wigston

Andrew Dingley

Andrew.Dingley@oadby-wigston.gov.uk

0116 257 2651

Rutland

Danielle Adams

dadams@rutland.gov.uk

01572 720936

For Leicester please go to the following website- https://livewell.leicester.gov.uk/steady-steps/

Steady Steps - Face to face sessions

Please note that face to face sessions are on hold at present and will resume once government guidelines allow. Referrals are still being accepted.


Further Information & Resources

For more information, please contact:

Lucy Baginskis

Lucy Baginskis

Sports Development Officer

Leicester-Shire & Rutland Sport

I am currently remote working, so please contact me via email/mobile phone (where provided).

Telephone
01509 564875
Mobile
07875494482 | Steady Steps: 07395794702

To face the challenges we see in Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland and to deliver our plans to meet them, health organisations have created Better Care Together - a Sustainability and Transformation Partnership (an STP). The partnership is working closely with local authorities, too.

Partners

  • Blaby LSA
    Active Partnerships
    Equality Standard
    Active Leicester
    Sport England
  • Safeguarding
    Leicestershire County Council
    Active Hinckley and Bosworth
    Active Rutland
    Active Oadby and Wigston
  • Harborough LSA
    NWL LSA
    Melton LSA
    Charnwood LSA

Partners

  • Blaby LSA
    Active Rutland
  • Charnwood LSA
    Leicestershire County Council